top of page

A Story

I just started my basketball season, and I was thinking about how the cross country went by so quickly, and then I thought about last year, my shoe came of at the beginning of the race. Her is a story that I wrote about that day, it is called, Where's My Shoe.

Where's My Shoe?

By: Marin Kauffman Smith

“Come on, grab your water bottle and let's go or we are going to be late.” My dad said, as I grabbed a water bottle and frantically tied my shoe. I hopped into the car with my dad and sister. It was cloudy outside. I was as tired as a lazy cat and didn’t feel ready to run a race that would make my legs ache.

When we got to the park where the race was held, I warmed up and went to the starting line. I gazed at the race coordinator and thought about how fast I would run.

“Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, five,” the man yelled.The siren blew and it sounded like a crying ambulance. Everyone began to run. I could hear all the feet pounding against the ground as everyone tried to get to the front. Suddenly, I felt someone step on the back of my shoe and my heel came loose.

I kept running for a few feet with my shoe ever so slightly still on, but it was very uncomfortable so I flung my shoe off by a bush and kept running. I could feel the pocky bark chips, the sharp grass, and the crumbly dirt, smashing against my sock, but I didn’t really care.

It was at the last stretch of the race and I was running as fast as I possibly could, even though my legs hurt atton. I could see the spray paint finish line in the grass so close to me, and then my foot landed on the grass after the line. My body filled with joy, I had finished the one and a half mile race with one shoe!

I hope you enjoyed the story!!! :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page