top of page

Power of the Purse!!


HI guys! Do any of you know what power of the purse is? If not, then listen up, you're gonna wanna hear this. Power of the purse, or POP, is a fundraiser for a non-profit program called Girls inc.. Girls inc. is all about empowering girls of every race to be strong, smart, and bold. At the event, everyone doing the it is modeling a purse they designed, then an auctioneer auctiones our purses off.

I am a member of what is called the girls council, which is where a group of girls get together once a month to talk. At girls council meetings, we have been writing our speeches and getting all ready for this one event, POP.

Power of the purse is when each of us got a purse-onality (someone to help with the purses) and a designer (someone to help make the purses). I got to help design two purses, that I modeled at POP. That night, yesterday night, might have been the biggest night ever! I had a lot of fun.

Before the event, we there extra early to have professionals do our hair and practice our speeches. My hair was mostly down except for three twists on one side. There was also gold glitter on each of the twists. I got compliments all day.

Of course, my favorite part was actually walking down the runway, showing off my purse, and saying my speech. I was super nervous going up there, but once I actually started walking and talking, it sort of came naturally. There were tons of applause and at the end I handed a thank-you card to the person that bought the purses. As it turned out, my purse went for $7,000! I was very surprised when I realized how much it was.

As you can imagine, when the whole thing was over I was exhausted. I had been there from 3:00 am. to 10:00 pm. When I got home, I headed straight to bed. Anyways, now I am positive that I am doing it again next year. If you want to see me run the runway, keep a watch for the video on this very site! See you soon,

-Madeline Diaz

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page