top of page

Cuba trip!

Photo of the house we stayed in

Hi everyone! As you probably know, I recently went on a trip to Havana in Cuba to visit my very large family. Now, let's get started by saying it was quite the trip. It all started before we even left the airport. Now have you ever used a walkie-talkie before? If you have, then you know that it's lots of fun. That is precisely what we were thinking when we packed them into my suitcases before the trip. BAD IDEA. We were stuck at that airport for more than an hour longer than we were supposed all because we weren't supposed to bring those with us. Now to set the scene, we were traveling with an 8-year-old who, like the rest of us had been up at air ports and on airplanes since 3 in the morning. It was now 6 and we all just wanted to get to the house and go to sleep but instead we are stuck at the airport all because of some toys. Eventually the supervisor saved us by letting us go if we bring back the walkie-talkies with a paper that she gave us. With that, we found a cab, (which was easy since there were about a million of 'em waiting outside the door) and went straight home to a teacher day party. No chance of sleeping now. Oh well.

 
The family of chicks who lived in the courtyard

So, now about the house. We were staying with my family who still lived there. It was a very big house and they recently added a wall separating the house into two parts, the part in front, and the part in the back, so that my cousins in the front could have a little bit of privacy from the rest of us in the back ( me, my parents and sister, my dad's mom, sister, and my cousin ). Not that here you really get allot of privacy anyways I mean like, people are always coming in to check with you but i'm not saying that's completely a bad thing. Anyways, to get to the other side of the house, you had to go through the courtyard where a rooster, a chicken, and their 3 little chicks live. Man those chicks were cute, but the rooster made sure that nobody got close enough to hold them.

 

And now for the family. Now i'm not going to be able to name everybody but I think I can do it justice. First of all, as I already told you, on my side of the house lives me, at the end of the hall with my mom, dad, and sister. in the room next to us, lived my grandmother Dolores and my aunt Leticia who once did geo-gomi with me. They are both very funny. Then, next to that lives the bathroom and next to that is my other aunt Ivon's room. She also came from the US but is staying a few days longer than us. In a different room is my cousin Leo who is definitely not my age. he is like 22 years old.

On the other side of the house, is the only family member close to my age. Her name is Sophia and is 13 years old. We hung out together allot mostly playing card games like spot it and speed. She lived with her mom and dad. Hector was also staying there. He also came from the US and is pictured in the collage above. I hope i'm not forgetting anyone. Anyways, there was also a part underneath the house where Chavelys, Michelle, Mani, and Josefina lived. And that was just in the house. There was this one little girl, I think maybe about 5 or so, who was sort of funny. She really liked to play with my sister although I think my sister got bored really quick. The thing is, sometimes (and i'm talking about the little girl) would get really mad and walk away, but then, not even 2 minutes later, would come back running wanting to play again. Well, that is all for now, but that is not the end of the Cuba story! I will come back with more really soon and I'm really sorry for taking so long to post this blog but hopefully the next time will come a lot faster. See you soon! -Madeline

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page